Wednesday, June 16, 2010

Coral Browne

Gregan McMahon hired Coral Brown, for her first professional performance in, Loyalties at Melbourne's Comedy Theatre on 2 May 1931.

At the age of 21 she moved to England, where she became a stage actress. She began film acting in 1936, in Auntie Mame (1958). About a flamboyant, aunt of Patrick, who is orphaned when his father dies. Placed in Mame's care, Patrick is quickly thrown into to his aunt's free-spirited lifestyle. As Patrick grows into a man, she tries to save him from the stuffy lifestyle which he is heading. Her motto is, "Life is a banquet, and most poor suckers are starving to death!"

The Killing of Sister George (1968) and The Ruling Class (1972).

In 1969, Brown performed in a production, What the Butler Saw in the West End at the Queen's Theatre.

While acting in the Soviet Union in a Royal Shakespeare Company production of Hamlet in 1958, she met spy Guy Burgess. This meeting became the basis of Alan Bennett's script for the television movie An Englishman Abroad (1983). Her other notable film of this period was, Dreamchild (1986). In the film, Brown gave an performance of the later life of Alice Liddell, in the tale Alice in Wonderland.

She married actor Philip Pearman in 1950. After his death, while making the film Theatre of Blood (1973), she met actor Vincent Price, and they married on 24 October 1974.

Click to view Coral Browne Official website.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.